MY MOTHER’S CHAIN

A Gold chain

Description

The object of evidence of my choice is a gold chain with  a cross locket. It is a bit faded, cause it had been worn by my mother, and myself for the past 33 years. It is stored in a red square box, aligned with a Christmas gift rapper on the outside, and on the edges inside of it. This box was given to me by my elder sister during the Christmas festive seasons , 2015.

Deduction

This object is certainly getting old, because it had been worn several times by its owners. It is already fading especially the locket. This only shows that the object has interacted with several individuals, as it is worn out.

Speculation

The fact that this object has started fading away suggest that it had been worn many times and must be very important to its owners. We can speculate that , maybe, an emotional story is behind the acquisition of such an object. Also, it might be an important object that is attached to the owners due to a history, and the value of preserving it.

Research

My gold chain was given to me on my 18th birthday by my mother. She had it with her when I was born at the Queen Elizabeth hospital in London, England, in May, 1987.I was born with a complication , and a breathing issue , and was confined in an oxygen concentrator .All the doctors at that ward tried their best, and eventually they told my mother that they can’t hold on to me any longer, and that they don’t think I will make it. It was during that period that a Jewish doctor who was on an internship and volunteering service, walked up to my mother and gave her this chain. He told her that She should not give up and that I would make it.

It was the following week after, on a Sunday morning, one of the doctors came by to check on me , and found out that the oxygen tube was taken out, and I could breathe normally.

Gold Chain in a Christmas box gift

My mother held on to this chain, and kept it through out all these years. We left the United Kingdom, and went back home, Sierra Leone. A war broke out in 1991, and lasted for 12 years. All that time, my mother had the chain , and had it on with her all the time. It was during that time, She gave me this chain, and I also kept it with me up till this day. I have it with me all the time.

This chain is very important to me and my family, as it gives us an assurance that God Almighty can do the impossible, and that we should never give up on faith through trial times. It also acts as a bond between my mother and I. When am travelling and my mother is not around, I always have this chain with me to remember that She will always be with me.

I believe that if this chain would end up in an archive in the future, lots of people who might be interested to know about it, won’t have the slightest idea the story behind it, and the importance it holds to my family, especially my mother and I. Except if the story is been told and kept with it, as it is been written on this blog now. The elements that would be recoverable might be the Object of itself, the cross chain. This chain represent a symbol of faith that no matter how worst a situation can be in your life, the Lord Almighty can fix it, and makes it whole again. He is the Impossible God.

Leave a comment