Handmade silver ring-Object as evidence

Description

We can see that the item is a ring made of silver.It is housed in a jewelry box designed to hold the ring. The silver on this ring is shiny and its jewelry box is clean. This ring has a twisted shape, and the location of its links is overlaid by the ends up.

Deduction

Both the ring and the box look new, indicating that the item wasn’t actually produced very long. The ring has a series of numbers (20190902), some small designs (stars and hearts) printed on it, and it is not in the usual circle shape, so we might deduce that the item should have been special ordered as requested.

Speculation

This ring was placed in a jewelry box, proving that this item has value to the owner.  The silver on the surface is very bright, we might speculate that the owner would have worn and polished it regularly. The numbers 20190902 engraved on it may represent a date (2nd, September, 2019), which we can presume may be an anniversary. The engraving on it is not very horizontal, some on the top and some on the bottom, so we might further speculate that this ring was handmade.

Research

This ring was handmade by my boyfriend, on our 300 day anniversary. I also made the same ring for him together at that time.I’ll briefly explain the process of making the ring.

Step 1: Preparation. Take a small strip made of 999 silver and run it through a machine to press it into a thin strip, stretching it until you think it’s the right thickness. 

Step 2: Engraving. Carve a pattern into the strip, take the corresponding pattern stamp and a small hammer and carve out your favorite pattern (hearts and stars) and numbers (20190902). The numbers carved on it is the date of we were together, September 2, 2019. Honestly the hand carved numbers and patterns aren’t neat.

Part 3: Shaping. Just twist the carved strip a few times and then wrap it around into a circle, adjust it to the size of my fingers, and cut off the excess at the joints. 

Part 4: Firing. By firing and polishing and other steps, this ring is done.

The item has great sentimental value to me. It represents our love. I wear this ring every day when I go out and only put it in my jewelry box only when I stay at home. I usually take good care of it and always polish it to keep clean and bright. 

It was repaired last year because it was too big for me. I used to wear it as usual but one day it fell off without a second thought and I almost couldn’t find it. Luckily, I found it under the table. I immediately went to repair it, opened up the connections and reduced the size of the ring. I’m really scared of losing this ring and I’ll be sure to keep it carefully. My boyfriend jokes that in a few years this ring I’m wearing now will be completely put away and will be replaced with wedding rings!

Leave a comment